Skip to content

Encouragement During Time of Exams

April 24, 2010

Stress times again in households all across Singapore!

Yep, it is Exam Period!

The local universities have started a couple of weeks back.  Students of polys and some local Uni courses are right smack in the midst of them.  And our JC, secondary and primary school children are going into full gear in preparation for the mid years!

So how to keep yourself sane during this time?

What can we do besides all the nagging(which is counterproductive in most instances of our children) and reminders to study?

Pray.

Pray and release our children to our Lord and know that He has a good plan for each of them.  Jer 29:11 says “… For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Do we trust our Lord with His plans for our children?

One thought I picked up from Heart2Heart session (Moms in The Potter’s Hand Recap) yesterday was this – don’t try to rescue our children from the cross.  Sometimes, they may have to go through difficult times to learn their lessons.  They must learn that they need to bear the consequences of their action or inaction.

When we constantly jump in to rescue them, providing them with alternatives or other solutions, we may be jeopardizing God’s plan for them, short changing them of the opportunity to learn an important life lessons and in that process, short-circuiting their emotional growth and maturity.

Exam time is also a time of our testing … do we trust our Lord for our children, do we trust He has a good plan for them…are we able to release our children to the Lord.  The releasing of our children to God will be a continual process of learning to trust in the Lord for them?

Below are some bible verses that can be used to not only to encourage our children during this stressful period but also ourselves :)  : -

  • “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength! ~ Philippians 4:13″
  • “Psalms 121:1-2 I look to the hills, where do my help come from?  My help comes from the Lord, Maker of heaven and Earth.”
  • “Do not be frightened and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. ~ Joshua 1:9″
  • The Lord Himself goes before you and will be with you; He will never leave nor forsake you.  Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. ~ Deut 31:8
  • To the Lord I cry aloud, and He answers me from His Holy Hill. ~ Psalm 3:8
  • I call on the Lord in my distress and He answers me .  ~ Psalms 120:1
  • “… For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” ~ Jer 29:11
  • “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your path.” ~ Prov 3:5-6

Great passages to be praying into the lives of our children :)

You may also want to look up our previous posts on exam prayers and ways to encourage our children during this period :

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Eugenia permalink
    May 28, 2012 1:25 am

    thanks! I am having my exams now and i came to search for some encouragements. Thanks for the amazing bible verses! Now I feel strengthen and assured! :D

    • heartsofmoms permalink*
      May 30, 2012 6:54 pm

      Deut 31:8 for you. God bless :)

  2. Esjey permalink
    September 19, 2012 1:17 pm

    Hi, a Singaporean JC kid here who has just finished my Prelims last week. I got back most of my results and are really very disappointing though I really worked for it. I feel so disheartened. Why has God forsaken me at such important times? My A levels are coming and my parents will be so worried for me :(

    • heartsofmoms permalink*
      September 27, 2012 11:02 pm

      Hi Esjey,
      I understand the anxiety you are experiencing and I thought that perhaps, a reply from another J2 student can be a source of encouragement to you. Below is what JL wants to share with you :

      Hello
      Well firstly, God has not forsaken you. It is written in His word that He will never leave you nor forsake you and although it is difficult to believe it during tough times, this is the inevitable truth so I would like to encourage you to hold on to His promises!!
      It is a good sign that you are feeling disheartened because this shows that you bother about your academic performance. Do not be disheartened! Instead be glad because it’s not the real thing yet and you still have time to work on your subjects.  Maybe you could try looking through your papers and see how to improve on your work from there? If you have any questions you could always book consultation slots with your teachers. Prelims are already over so just continue to push on because not all hope is lost :)
      Also, maybe God is trying to show you or teach you something in this exam season. Have you been depending on Him as much as you should? Sometimes during exam periods we lose sight of God because we try to focus all our energy on our work (which is not entirely bad), and we question His ability when bad things happen. God’s way of working around things may not be what we feel is best but I guess we have to trust that He knows better than we do. I mean he formed all the trees and the sky and all so surely He’d be able to handle something so much smaller in comparison like the A levels right?

      Isaiah 55:8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways-declares the Lord”
      Ecclesiastes 3:11 “He has made all things beautiful in His time”
      Romans 8:28 “and we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.”
      Philippians 4:12-13 “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through Him who gives me strength”

      Hope these verses will help lift your spirits!! Oh yes and since God already knows what is going to happen for the rest of our lives (including what grades you are going to get for A’s) I think there is nothing much for you to worry about. He knows better. So just study and do your best I guess!

      As for your parents, I think they will not be worried if they know you are trying your best. There is nothing more they can demand from you anyway.
       
      Btw I am a JC student too so trust me on this :-) All the best for A’s!

      I agree with JL who is one of the daughters of our moms. And I agree with what JL has shared :) I leave you with this verse from Deut 31:8 “It is the Lord who goes before you; He will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

      May God grant you strength, grace and wisdom during this time of preparation.

      God bless.
      The Mommy at Hearts of Moms

      • Chantal permalink
        November 13, 2012 9:21 pm

        Love u all, You encourage me because I have an exam taday.
        Now no fear, Jesus is with me, that is enough for me, He will guide me. Be blessed every body and Be happy, Jesus Loves you.
        Chantal

  3. October 7, 2013 3:00 am

    Thank you a lot for these wonderful scriptures they really made a huge diffence in my feelings
    God bless you:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

